However, regardless of its popularity, many human being are unsure around what it’s do of and also how that produced.

You are watching: Does mayonnaise have dairy in it

What’s more, some human being categorize mayonnaise as a dairy products product due to its characteristic appearance, taste, and also texture.

This write-up explains what mayo is make of and also whether it’s taken into consideration a dairy product.

Share ~ above Pinterest
Mayonnaise, additionally known as mayo, is a condiment regularly used in sandwiches and certain species of salad dishes choose pasta and potato salad.

Mayo commonly has a thick, creamy texture and tangy, slightly tart flavor.

While its ingredients vary based on the brand, most mayo is make by mix egg yolks and also an acid, such as lemon juice or vinegar, with spices and also flavorings.

In regards to nutrition, mei contains about 90 calories and 10 grams that fat every tablespoon (13 grams), and also around 70 mg of sodium (1).

That said, there are many different types of mayo available, consisting of light, eggless, and specialty-flavored varieties.


mei is a high-fat condiment make from egg yolks, vinegar or lemon juice, and also spices and flavorings. It has actually a creamy texture and also tangy flavor that functions well in sandwiches and salads.

most mayo is dairy-free

Dairy commodities are foodstuffs that contain milk, such together cheese, yogurt, and also butter.

Although mei is often mistaken for dairy, most mayo does not contain milk. Instead, most commercial brand of mayo room made using a mix the spices, egg yolks, and lemon juice or vinegar.

Therefore, most creates of mei are perfect for those complying with a dairy-free diet.


Most species of mayo do not save milk and are not taken into consideration dairy products.

Certain varieties of mei contain dairy

Although most types of mayo room dairy-free, there room some exceptions.

For example, countless recipes for eggless mayonnaise usage condensed milk together an egg substitute, which gives the sauce a contempt sweeter flavor and also thicker texture than traditional mayonnaise (1).

Another example is milk mayonnaise, a renowned Portuguese mei made with whole milk, lemon juice, oil, and also spices. This type of mayo does save on computer dairy.

Furthermore, dairy commodities like buttermilk or Parmesan cheese may be included to part mayonnaise-based dressings prefer ranch or creamy Italian.


some recipes because that eggless mayonnaise or milk mayonnaise save dairy. Mayonnaise-based dressings favor ranch or creamy Italian may likewise contain milk products.

exactly how to for sure your mayo is dairy-free

Regardless of whether you stop dairy because that personal, religious, or health-related reasons, check the ingredient brand of your mayo is vital to ensuring that it’s dairy-free.

Note that the Food and Drug management (FDA) calls for manufacturers come identify common food allergens choose milk straight on the label (2).

However, it’s likewise a good idea come scan the label to inspect for milk-based ingredients. Look because that ingredients favor butter, casein, milk, cheese, milk protein hydrolysates, or whey, all of which suggest that the product consists of dairy.


If you’re complying with a dairy-free diet, be certain to examine the label of your mayo to ensure that it’s free of dairy product products.

The bottom line

Mayo is a common ingredient that is used in a range of dishes around the world.

Most species of store-bought mayo are made making use of egg yolks, spices, lemon juice, or vinegar and also are not taken into consideration dairy products.

See more: How Much Does A Cup Of Water Weigh In Pounds, How Many Cups Is 2Lbs Of Water

However, dairy is sometimes included to particular varieties, consisting of milk mayonnaise and eggless mayonnaise, and also some mayo-based salad dressings favor creamy Italian and also ranch.


Written by Rachael Link, MS, RD — to update on April 15, 2019

Read this next

AboutCareersAdvertise through us